top of page

Bratwurst at the Barbecue

Updated: Jul 16, 2023

One thing I have always heard about international students coming abroad to study in America is their fascination with college parties. My international friends have always described this through the adaptation of college/university life in the US into movies and TV shows. From my brief experiences at HWS thus far, these adaptations are pretty accurate. Although I’ve never thought of it as anything special, unlike international students. I never really understood their attraction to this aspect of the US college experience, but now being abroad I see how different their university customs are. At least here at Leipzig Universität the generic weekend parties at Fraternities or campus houses simply don’t exist. That party culture in the US is replaced by their own celebrations. First, being in a city limits the availability of places for people to host larger parties like back home. Instead, most people go out with close friends to bars, parks, fairs, other events in and around the city, and to on campus barbecues. I am not saying that there are no parties, but they are just different and not as frequent. For example, one party I’ve been to, and this was a student hosted party at someone else’s apartment, was planned out 2 months in advance! And another odd thing about some of the University parties is that sometimes you even have to pay an entrance fee, or show your Uni card. So it doest surprise me to see that bars, barbecues, and parks are more popular throughout the city.

This past weekend with the weather finally feeling like summer (25 Celsius = 83 Fahrenheit), the physics department, the IPSP (International Physics Studies Program), threw a barbecue. On Sunday I joined my classmates, professors, some friends, and others to celebrate the start of the semester (even though we are now halfway through). We congregated on the lawns of the physics campus with a few grills, some chicken (Hähnchen), Bratwurst, and lots of Beer in Bierkasten (beer crates holding 16-20 glass bottles). In total there were roughly sixty of us there. Besides food, people also brought a portable volleyball net and Spikeball, so there was lots of chatter, competition, and fun to be had. I spent most of my time talking with my friends from class, but also met some new people and outplayed some kids at Spikeball. I truly enjoyed the festivity as it reminded me of my own summer traditions back home. During the summer at home I also attend several family and friend oriented barbecues, so it was nice to be doing something familiar. However, one large difference I am sure you picked up on is that burgers were not on the food list for the party. If you don’t already know, Germany’s main source of meat is not beef. Instead, they prioritize pork, veal, and chicken. So, in place of our prized burger at the barbecue, the Germans have Bratwurst. Bratwurst is essentially the most popular of German sausages. It can be found almost anywhere, yet this was only my second time having it. Bratwurst is a type of sausage most commonly made from pork with spices like black pepper, salt, onion, and more mixed in. I have been told there are roughly 20-30 types of Bratwurst all unique to different regions, cities, and towns of Germany, so I have a long way to go from the two I have had so far. Just to name a few, there is Rostbratwurst, Rindsbratwurst, Thüringer Rostbratwurst, Münchner Bratwurst, Klabsbratwurst, and the list goes on. Most times they are served with special German mustard, Kartoffelpuffer (German potato pancakes), Bier, Prezeln, and more. For our little barbecue get-together we only had some Sauerkraut and Brötchen for sides, however the meal was well thought out. Additionally, if you ever come to Germany, or anywhere outside of the US for the matter, DO NOT call this a Hot Dog. There is a big difference and some Germans may even take offense. Overall the food was DELICIOUS. I don’t know if it was the way my professor cooked them or the type of Bratwurst it was, but it was way better than a simple cheeseburger. I will definitely be looking forward to my next Bratwurst!

Unfortunately, I had to leave the party a little early because my brother’s graduation from St. Lawrence was also on Sunday afternoon. Thankfully, I was still able to enjoy the barbecue and watch my brother graduate over a livestream.

Now I can’t wait until the next barbecue! Not only was it a great place to try new foods, with people bringing some of their own favorite dishes, or a place to practice some of my crummy German, but a good reminder to enjoy my time here and not completely focus myself on school.


P.S. I did not think to bring my camera to this event and did not take many pictures with my phone in general, as someone was taking photos and said they would be sent in our group chat. Once that happens I will post them on the blog. Thanks for reading and see you in two weeks!

P.P.S I have finally set up my photos on the blog as well! You can find them beneath the photography section at the top of the blog.



(The photos still haven't been posted but here is a Curywurst with Pommes Frites I have had as well)


May 26th, 2023


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

About Me

IMG_0436.jpeg

Hey everybody my name is Will Russell and I am a sophomore at HWS. I am a physics major and was recently inducted into the Dual Degree Engineering program at Dartmouth. I am from a small town just north of Boston Massachusetts, so I have grown up next to the ocean and skiing in the New Hampshire mountains all my life. Traveling abroad to Leipzig is actually my first time out of the country, so it's all very new, challenging, and exciting! 

 

P.S. I am also a passionate photographer and will be sharing many photos of my abroad experience on my Insta and here. 

#LeapofFaith

Posts Archive

Keep Your Friends
Close & My Posts Closer.

Thanks for submitting!

Haben Sie Fragen und brauchen Antworten? Fragen Sie mich!

(Do you have questions and need answers? Ask me!)

  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by by Leap of Faith. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page