top of page

Wochenmärkte (Farmers' Markets!)

Updated: Jul 16, 2023

This week I am once again discussing food. Following my main theme I thought I would bring up the farmers markets or Wochenmärkte (der Wochenmarkt singular), that are located throughout Leipzig, although, you would be able to find these anywhere in Germany. At least twice a week the residents of Leipzig and its outlying neighborhoods come into town to sell their naturally grown produce. All products brought to these Leipzig markets are fresh and from this area of Eastern Germany. For when you come to visit Leipzig I have put together a little introductory to where and when you can find the Wochenmärkte.


(There are a few others throughout the city but these have been the ones closest to me, and Wochenmarkt Innenstadt is the main Wochenmarkt in the city. There are 14 total!)

Additionally, in case you are in Munich, as I was back in March, there is a really great Wochenmarkt called Viktualienmarkt just south of Marienplatz. I remember there were lots of fresh produce carts along with ice cream, flowers, and Fleischerwagen. In any city the Wochenmärkte are a must see.

While the general food store is a good place to find the majority of items you need, the markets will provide a larger selection of produce. Sometimes either items will be gone by the time I get to Rewe or they simply don’t have what I want, however, I am always able to find everything at the Wochenmarkt. They sell turnips (Rüben), onions (Zwiebeln), scallions (Frühlingszwiebeln), several types of lettuce (Salat), watermelon (Wassermelon), bananas (Bananen), apples (Apfeln), olives (Oliven), peppers (Paprikas), cheese (Käse), grapes (Trauben), basil (Basilie), squash (Mansch), carrots (Karoten), broccoli (Broccoli), cauliflower (Blumenkohle), tomatoes (Tomaten), peaches (Pfrische), black-blue-strawberries (Schwarz-Blau-Erdberren), lemons (Zitrone) and potatoes (Kartoffeln) of course. Besides produce stalls there are also Fleischerwagon, Kuchenwagen, wines (Weine), jams (Marmeladen), honeys (Honig), flowers (Blumen), spices (Gewürze), and a few other odd commodities. Some Wochenmärkte have specific allergen selections too.

Once again, if you are looking for good, cheap, fresh food the markets are a place to go. With many stands serving similar items at the same market, there is competition, and competition rewards low prices. I’m talking like a few euros. For example, the strawberries I buy only cost €3. And that’s for roughly 12 strawberries. Usually, I go to the Wochenmärkte to buy my bananas, some watermelon, strawberries, an apple if I’m passing by, and other specific Gemüse for specific meals like scallions or green beans.

Here are some tips for whenever you visit a Wochenmärkte:

  • Bring your own little canvas tote bag. These are perfect for almost anything in Germany and everyone has one. All you have to do is buy whatever you want and just plop it in and continue on, it’s as simple as that.

  • Bring cash!! I have seen only a few stands that have the availability to use credit or debit cards (and that was in Berlin). Most all stalls accept cash only payment, so if you see a sign saying, “nur Bargeld Bezahlung” then head on over to a nearby ATM (oder Geldautomat).

  • Be prepared to practice some German. I am sure if you talk in English you will be understood, but your in Germany. So study some phrases and speak some German. Its exciting!

Wochenmärkte are a lot of fun. They are an exciting and different thing about German culture that I have not been able to experience in the US. I don’t believe I have actually been to a farmers market before. I know that there is one almost every Saturday down at the Seneca Lake Information Center in Geneva, although I’ve never been. It’s fascinating to see how every German town has at least one Wochenmarkt throughout the week, while I have never heard of any in my hometown or my neighboring towns. It has been nice to be able to hope on my bike in the mornings after deciding dinner for the night and pedal over to the Wochenmarkt to grab necessary ingredients. I will definitely miss this once I return home. I’m amazed that there are 14 Wochenmärkte in all of Leipzig, yet not a single one in my home town all year long. It’s a disappointing comparison to the US for sure, and helps to reflect Germany’s more active social community. The city works hard to have the people participate in events and collectively join together for their traditions. The spirit in the city is very vibrant and strong and I believe it is reflected across all Germany. A similar ideal is Germany’s use of green space and parks. If you haven’t seen already then look at my pictures from Berlin, the parks are overpopulated. I believe that the Wochenmärkte really help portray this sense of unity and bonding as they provide a central hub for people to meet, talk, and enjoy one another company.

I can’t believe this is my second to last blog and school will officially be over in two weeks!! Except another 2 weeks for finals :( I am definitely excited for summer break to begin but not sure I will be ready to leave Leipzig yet. Hope you enjoyed reading! Tschüss und bis nächste Freitag!


Weird side fact I recently discovered:

Last week, I was talking with one of my friends and mentioned that potatoes are the main staple food of Germany. My friend pointed out that potatoes aren’t even native to Europe. Rather they were imported from South America. Yet in todays world they are a major commodity here. Germans use Kartoffeln in a variety of ways and add them to almost every meal.


July 7th, 2023


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

About Me

IMG_0436.jpeg

Hey everybody my name is Will Russell and I am a sophomore at HWS. I am a physics major and was recently inducted into the Dual Degree Engineering program at Dartmouth. I am from a small town just north of Boston Massachusetts, so I have grown up next to the ocean and skiing in the New Hampshire mountains all my life. Traveling abroad to Leipzig is actually my first time out of the country, so it's all very new, challenging, and exciting! 

 

P.S. I am also a passionate photographer and will be sharing many photos of my abroad experience on my Insta and here. 

#LeapofFaith

Posts Archive

Keep Your Friends
Close & My Posts Closer.

Thanks for submitting!

Haben Sie Fragen und brauchen Antworten? Fragen Sie mich!

(Do you have questions and need answers? Ask me!)

  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by by Leap of Faith. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page