top of page

Das Sololeben...The Sololife

Dear blog,



Well, this is the last time I am writing here, most likely. Currently, I’m sitting at my desk in my room, window open on a beautiful yet sweaty 34 degree day listening to the Straßenbahn rush past and the tweets of those massive pigeon birds, thinking about how I’ll officially be leaving in two weeks. While I still won’t be returning home until August 28th, its frightening knowing that my time in Leipzig is coming to a close. I have grown very comfortable with my separate world here, and there is so much I have enjoyed throughout my time that I am not ready to leave yet. Interestingly enough I was frightened going into my abroad experience, and now here I am on the reverse side of the coin, frightened of leaving.

For the past three and a half months as I have undertaken school here in Leipzig I have written to you about my discoveries and experiences with food outside of the US and my comfort zone. Previously, I have discussed Bäckereien, Cafés, Supermärkte, Wochenmärkte, Mensen, Grills, Feiern, und Stadtfeste, but today I will write to you a reflection on my time and some last advice for you.

Before leaving HWS last semester, we had a meeting to discuss the importance of our Blocker Fellowship and the cultural takeaway we should hope to gain from this experience. As I look back at what I desired to achieve, I can happily say that I was successful in completing what I set out to do. I may have even been a little short with my goals, not knowing what to expect from my experience. My two main goals consisted of growing in my independence and practicing my bilingual skills.

After taking a two week intensive course in Munich, a class over the past three months, along with visits to Wochenmärkte, Supermärkte, Restaurants, Bahnhöfe, and other outlets to practice my German, I believe I have garnered my German language skills to a level at which I feel accomplished. While I still do find it difficult to speak at times, listening and understanding people has become much easier. Once returning home to school I hope to continue my German practice so as not to lose the skills that I have gained. Learning a second language is something that has always interested me. Over the last year I have enjoyed my time attempting to learn the German language, although, don’t believe I will ever find myself mastering it with all it's complex grammar structures and gender mannerisms. Reflecting on my time in Leipzig, I do wish I had pushed myself more to better understand the language. Early on I bought myself a set of flashcards, planning to study new vocabulary, although they currently sit in my desk drawer, untouched and blank. Additionally, I still find myself asking, “Sprechen Sie Englisch?” every now and then as I am afraid of looking stupid at times. Now, I realize people wouldn’t have cared and I should’ve used every moment possible to practice, allowing me to feel confident and successful in myself.

My second goal I based on building my independency. Not in the sense of being self-reliant, but in growing and discovering myself. This was something I was happy to do and have needed for quite some time. For the past few years I have mostly felt lost in what I was doing or wanted to do with my life. Honestly, I was never fully committed to the idea of going abroad, I just wanted to go somewhere new and away. And living solo in Germany has definitely been the reprieve and experience necessary to help me learn about myself. Living and traveling abroad, especially as a solo, I have found is a time to explore and try new things, which I have either never had the opportunity to do before or because I was afraid of being judged by the people around me. But when you leave everyone and everything you know behind you can create a new life and live as your true self. My short life abroad has allowed me to figure out who I am and what I want out of life. Instead of just following the same routine everyday I’m realizing there are more aspects to life. Additionally, living abroad has also introduced me a little more into the adult side of life. While I am already familiar with cooking for myself, doing laundry, clothes and grocery shopping, and finding transportation for myself, I was unprepared for paying bills. Not having to pay any bills myself, besides for school, I was unaccustomed to budgeting. In Leipzig, I have to pay for the necessities such as school, rent, phone service, health insurance, and food. This limited my ability to pay for my wanted expenses such as traveling, activities, and clothes. Learning when and what it is appropriate to spend my money on has definitely been new for me, before I never even liked to spend money, but I am abroad for a limited time and am not going to let money hold me back. For example, I recently planned out a week and a half traveling with a friend in Europe spending roughly a thousand and draining my account a bit, but I have also wanted to go to Rome ever since fifth grade so last weekend I planned out a trip down to Italy and it cost roughly $500 for the flight, lodging, transportation, activities, and food. Usually, I wouldn’t spend that much, especially after planning an already expensive trip, but it was 1000% worth it and I would spend any amount to do it again. I can promise you that once I get to school I will be sure to get a job on day 1. To tell you a little more about how I think I’ve grown I wanted to share this excerpt that I wrote in my journal I brought with me here:


One thing I want to tell you about is that I actually don’t like change. Ironically though, my life has consistently been changing over the past decade. Transitioning from middle school to high school, I lost a good few of my friends, and became really shy. In my sophomore year my parents separated. During my junior and senior year? Well, I lost a part of my junior year and all of my senior year to COVID, losing the classic senior events before graduation. Then I began anew 8 hours away from home (I was happy with leaving home) at HWS, making new friends and trying new things. And after only three quick semesters, I have left HWS, missing my fourth semester to prepare for my abroad trip to Germany. Now undergoing a summer semester of school in Germany I’ve missed seeing friends and earning money back home. And as the semester comes to a close I now must prepare to leave Germany for a short bit of traveling. Only to return home for a week before beginning anew again at Dartmouth, as part of an engineering program there for the 23-24 academic year. For someone who has never liked change I find it ironic that I haven’t really had any consistency over the past decade of my life. I guess change likes me or something… Anyway all I’m trying to say is life is gonna throw a lot of curveballs at ya and not everything will make you happy. Sometimes you have to deal with what is going on and make the best of it. Looking back you will be thankful for the opportunities you’ve had and grateful not to have had to follow a routine. Life is short and you’re not meant to do the same thing every day. That’s why they call it an experience.

I feel like I am really rambling on here and not so much about my abroad time as much as about myself. Although, being abroad has taught me these lessons and things about myself. I am proud to have taken this opportunity abroad and grateful to have been accepted as a Blocker Fellowship Blogger as I don’t believe I would’ve otherwise had the encouragement to blog about my time and not take it for granted (honestly, I’ve never really understood this saying of ‘taking something for granted.’ Do you want to do that because it meant so much to you or do you not want to take it for granted because it was so impactful and unique in your life?) I look forward to exploring my blog when I’m older and seeing what I thought of this experience, and maybe even get to compare it to another one if I’m lucky (might need to earn some money back before then XD).


Now for some advice. Most of what is below are thoughts that have popped in my head as I’ve been writing this and I have just jotted them down. Some more formal bullet points check out my blog 6 post (Reisen in Ausländer).

  • First, I just have to say that if you are considering an abroad program, DO IT. This has been one of the best decisions of my life and there is not a thing I have regretted. I promise that even if you have never been very independent, or are shy, or anything else, everything will work out and you will make memories for a lifetime.

  • Don’t get into a routine. Let yourself be spontaneous and adventures. When there is something you want to do, DO IT!

  • No one knows you here, so don’t be afraid of being judged by people, not that you should anyway, people do not care what you do (in a general sense).

  • For the other introverts out there, talk to the locals and students in your classes, make friends (if you don’t, you can still do everything solo and have fun). Just be social and you’ll find your niche

  • Stay at at least one hostel somewhere (Going to miss hostel life most of all)

  • Try local cuisine and food that you otherwise wouldn’t be eating elsewhere. I recently had Böhmisches Gulasch, and I still don’t really know what that was but I’ll gladly have it again.

  • Travel, naturally

  • When you are away, sure there will be things your going to miss at home, I missed my brother graduating college, but you will make your own worthwhile experiences

  • One last thing I want to tell you, and myself, is that not all the time will there be people in your life to have experiences with. You need to learn to take control of your own life instead of waiting for other peoples timelines to line up.

With only two weeks left before my sololife (coined term) comes to an end, besides studying for exams I would like to still have some adventure. Below I have put a short list of ideas for new things to do or things to do again:

  • movie theater

    • Oppenheimer

  • Wochenmarkt

  • Vapiano

  • Kulkwitzer See oder Cospudener See

  • Dresden

  • Red Bull stadium

  • Haircut

  • Einkaufen

  • Zoo

  • Apply for international driving permit (Plans for Spain)


Well that’s all I have to say for my last entry I think. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading about my adventures and experiences over the past few months. I think my palette has definitely expanded and I’d honestly be up to try anything at this point. So mission accomplished. I may continue to add photos to my blog beneath my photography tab, so stay vigilant.



I am forever grateful for this opportunity.

Sincerely,

Will Russell



July 14th, 2023

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

About Me

IMG_0436.jpeg

Hey everybody my name is Will Russell and I am a sophomore at HWS. I am a physics major and was recently inducted into the Dual Degree Engineering program at Dartmouth. I am from a small town just north of Boston Massachusetts, so I have grown up next to the ocean and skiing in the New Hampshire mountains all my life. Traveling abroad to Leipzig is actually my first time out of the country, so it's all very new, challenging, and exciting! 

 

P.S. I am also a passionate photographer and will be sharing many photos of my abroad experience on my Insta and here. 

#LeapofFaith

Posts Archive

Keep Your Friends
Close & My Posts Closer.

Thanks for submitting!

Haben Sie Fragen und brauchen Antworten? Fragen Sie mich!

(Do you have questions and need answers? Ask me!)

  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by by Leap of Faith. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page